NORIT Cup 2023: Stuttgarter Kickers win

19.01.2023Lindner News

On 14 and 15 January 2023, the NORIT Cup took place in Dettelbach for the 26th time: Well-known clubs from the first and second Bundesliga and the local heroes of Team Dettelbach und Ortsteile 2009 e. V. ("DuO09") faced each other on the pitch.

Finally, Football Again!

For two years, the Lindner NORIT Cup had to take a break due to the Corona pandemic. This year it was back again and 16 teams battled it out in the Maintalhalle in Dettelbach for the trophy. The U16 teams from FC Augsburg, Hertha BSC Berlin and Borussia M'Gladbach were among the participants. The excitement surrounding the tournament was evident from the ticket sales, with tickets for both days of the tournament selling out in no time: Among the guests were some familiar faces such as Schweinfurt's top striker Adam Jabiri, Patrice Covic (son of former Hertha head coach Ante Covic) and former international and current Herta BSC U16 coach Malik Fathi.

"Tournament Winner Beaters" Dettelbach

The highlight of the 26th NORIT Cup for the hosts from Dettelbach was the 3-0 victory of "DuO09" against Stuttgarter Kickers. It was the first ever win for the home side against the eventual winners of the tournament, making them the "Tournament Winner Beaters". The fans stormed the pitch to thunderous applause and celebrated their team. The atmosphere lasted until the final on Friday evening, thanks to exciting matches of a high standard, excellent catering and superb organisation: 1. FC Nürnberg and Stuttgarter Kickers faced each other. With a 3-2 victory, Stuttgarter Kickers won the trophy for the fifth time, making them the record winners of the NORIT Cup.

Sporting Excellence Rewarded

The prize-giving ceremony was conducted by District Administrator Tamara Bischof, Mayor of Dettelbach Matthias Bielek and BFV Vice President Jürgen Pfau. The winners of the tournament, Stuttgarter Kickers, were delighted to receive the trophy. Dr Winfried Aschern, Managing Director of Lindner NORIT GmbH, the main sponsor and namesake of the tournament, also presented individual awards to the "football stars of tomorrow". The "Best Goalkeeper" award went to Fortuna goalkeeper Till von Gehlen. Patrice Covic (Hertha BSC Berlin) was named the best player of the tournament. David Klos (1. FC Nürnberg) and Alessandro Crimaldi (VfL Wolfsburg) took home the "top scorer's crown" with eight tournament goals each.